Guest reviews

Nothing speaks louder about our exquisite camps, service, experiences and team than our incredible guest reviews. Thank you for your support!

"…we especially loved dinner in the river bed."

December 2021

"Excellent game drives, tailored to our interests. We never felt rushed, and Lambert [our guide] was thoughtful and attentive to our interests."

December 2021

"Absolutely fulfilled our expectations, it was exceptional!"

December 2021

"Everyone took excellent care of us. We were really happy with everything. Every meal was gourmet. The food presentation was wonderful. We enjoyed the bush breakfast and lunch very much. Lambert is an extremely knowledgable guide. We saw new things and learned a lot that we had not known before."

February 2021

"We have stayed in Jongomero for 3 nights during our honeymoon trip and we loved it a lot! Jongomero offers an amazing landscape and nature combined with hospitality. We had a private romantic candle light dinner - what a great surprise! Chef David is a master of his profession, he creates great meals better than many restaurants at home. Because of the location of Jongomero, we never met any cars from other camps and experienced the contact to the animals in a very intimate way. Meeting the elephants was beyond description! Furthermore we had quite much fun with our guide Lambert who is a real expert in reading tracks and finding animals in the thick green bush. Everyone of the staff was very attentive and we heard so many interesting and funny stories. All in all: we felt as a part of a big family!"

January 2020

"We loved everything about Jongomero. The location, the accommodation, the food, the safaris, the guides (Joseph and Vincent) the staff, the pool, everything! Michael and his team were so welcoming and friendly and all aspects of the camp are run to an extremely high standard. The chef (David) cooked delicious safe meals for our son who is extremely allergic to a number of foods. On the safaris it was just our family and guides in the land rover so it felt far more personal. Just wonderful. Thank you to all for a fantastic four days that we'll never forget."

January 2020

We came to Jongomero after staying at Selous and we loved the difference in experiences. The camp is in a stunning location overlooking the river and both food and staff were superb. The guides were friendly and knowledgeable and we managed to also go for a walking trip that we would recommend. It is definitely the best place to stay in Ruaha. What we particularly loved is the seclusion and the fact that we never met any other car/tourist which is becoming a rarity even more remote parks like Ruaha. All in all a great experience.

January 2021

"A gorgeous river lodge on the banks of the Jongomero river, with the omnipresence soundtrack of gently flowing water. My riverfront tent had a private deck and I lounged on the daybed sipping a good coffee at sunrise, right by the tranquillity of the river. It had rained in the night and walking back to the main relaxation areas, there were very clear leopard paw prints right by my tent! The guides, Apollo and Lambert are very skilled at finding game and it was awesome to see roaring lion up close you can feel his roar reverberating right through you, being mocked charged by young male elephant, adorable bat-eared foxed and black backed jakkal pairs, hammerheads fishing by the river crossings and the gorgeous resident Kudu. Not to mention the spectrum of birdlife. Jongomero had a couple of surprises up it’s sleeve. You can do the ultimate adrenaline rush, a walking safari on foot in terrain where elephant, lion, leopard and buffalo roam. The whole team is great, from the manager Emiel to Mashaka, the head chef, warm genuine hospitality and an eagerness to ensure all guests have a wonderful safari of a lifetime. The lodge is 5 min from an airstrip but literally 40km from any other lodge, guaranteeing exclusive game drives, it felt like having a wild and remote corner of Africa, all to myself."

January 2021

"We have been to many safari camps and lodges and can claim that Jongomero is among the Top Five on our list. First of all let us start with the location. Ruaha National Park in Southern Tanzania is already quite unknown in comparison to Serengeti or Ngorongoro in the North and therefore fewer tourists find their way to Ruaha. On top of that Jongomero Camp lies in the most remote corner of the national park, all alone with no other camp or civilisation around. The luxurious tents all lie lined up along the dry riverbed and gave us amazing views. After arrival we were picked up by our driver in an open vehicle and after about 5 minutes drive we were greeted by the amazing amazing staff with a song, wet towels and a fresh welcome drink. Every day we were taken o a morning and afternoon game drive through the beautiful National Park and felt alone in the nature with no-one around but the African wildlife! Our highlights definitely were the early morning coffee brought into our tent and the private buch breakfast during the game drive together with our driver. We will also never forget the first night where dinner was served in the dry river bed surrounded by fire torches and the sound of lions and hyenas."

June 2019

"This was our 2nd safari camp and just as exciting as the first, yet different. Even more remote, smaller but the same big safari experience. Twice daily safari rides with Lambert. Wilson, Claud and team were so accommodating and couldn't do enough. Food was specially prepared for us. An added bonus was resident Victor the elephant."

November 2021

Unbedingt jetzt reisen, wer kann!! Man hat das Camp fast für sich alleine!!! Wir waren zu viert und außer unseren beiden nur zwei weitere Zelte besetzt. Wir waren diesen Oktober im Camp. Es stimmt einfach alles, man ist 'in the middle of nowhere', mit wunderschönen Luxuszelten und wirklich irre gutem Essen. Unser Guide JC hat uns an traumhafte Plätze gebracht, viel über die einzelnen Tiere gelehrt und uns durch dick und dünn sicher und versiert gefahren. Die Tiere hier sind wirklich noch scheu, die Autos nicht so gewöhnt - man betrachtet sie ja auch ganz alleine, es kommt nicht gleich eine Schar anderer Fahrzeuge, wenn ein Löwe gesichtet wird. Das Personal im Camp ist unglaublich nett, man wird richtig auf Händen getragen.

October 2021

Visit TripAdvisor to read all our reviews